Valentine Hat

Valentines day really isn’t my thing. Love should be for every day. Hah, I just don’t see the point of having a special day devoted to tat with hearts and stuff on it, so I made myself a hat, with hearts. That after tomorrow will go away until next winter. Maybe. Nobody seems to associate it with Valentines day, which is awesome. So I’m free to wear it as I please apparently. I’ve been wearing it all week.

So this is that hat, with the hearts, and a pompom.

I used a purple acrylic as a maincolour, I think it’s King Cole Big Value but I can’t be sure. To be honest most acrylics are pretty much the same. And for the hearts I used King Cole Baby Comfort, in the purple colours, it has white, a dark purple and a light purple. Both yarns are acrylic DK weight.

I have a light weight scarf that goes really well with this. The thing behind.

I used to wear this colour a lot which is why I wanted it. The pattern was free from Ravelry, and can be found here, it’s called From Norway With Love. The whole thing is worked on 4mm needles, but I actually worked the main bit in 4.5mm needles because I find sometimes my fair isle is a bit tight. It’s quite a popular patten too, there’s over 1400 projects! Although very few have pompoms, that’s just me being weird again.

I shared this on Facebook and got a very positive response, people really seemed to like it.

And this is my only in progress photo of it. It was a really basic fair isle pattern. If you’re looking to get into colour work and can already knit in the round this would be a good start. I’m tempted to do another one, but I doubt I’d wear it. I’m really not a fan of beanies, and I’ve been forcing myself to wear this a bit to try and get into liking them.

This is my fourth hat of 2015!

And if you want to see my Ravelry notes, they can be found here! I didn’t finish it as quickly as I’d have liked, but three days isn’t bad with work/classes/social life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atangledyarn84
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 14:15:04

    So lovely!

    Reply

  2. knitstringsblog
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 19:15:35

    You’re so right about Valentines Day. We should love each other everyday. Love the hat too, the colors are beautiful.

    Reply

  3. littleblackdogsa
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 07:41:31

    It is beautiful. You knit so well! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

