Finished Project – Shagging moose hat

I was making a beautiful shawl, from a Debbie Bliss pattern that you can see here. And after a huge disaster with my interchangeable needles coming undone I was forced to unravel the 10cm I’d done in a week. 300 stitches near enough, took me a week and it was ruined. I did write it up here if you really want to see my failure.

I was feeling hugely uninspired and I just wanted something simple that wouldn’t depress me and would help me get rid of some of my acrylic stash. I’d been eyeing this hat for a while after seeing it in a 52 hats challenge group, and I figured I’d go for it. It’s been my third hat this year. I’m now working on my fourth and I still need a pair of gloves…

I had a quick poke though my colours and half thought about making two with inverted colours, one for me and one for Angela, so I settled on a grey from King Cole, Baby Comfort, and a red from Phildar, Charly, both great yarns. I cast on using my 4mm needles for the rib and changed to the recommended 4.5 for the body. Even though I was working with DK I don’t think my tension was too badly out.

This hat is a pattern called Fuck The Cold, exactly how we’re all feeling at winter. it’s free from here and I really think you should knit one. Everyone should. Even your grandma.

I did change a few things, I hid the fuck the cold bit a little by taking out the main colour strip between the stripe and the letters, because I was worried about giving Angela a hat with the work fuck on it. And I made a couple of mistakes in the pattern, but that’s not a big deal, it still looks great.

I did add a pompom too. I like pompoms. I used my amazing Clover pompom marker. They look weird but they’re amazing!

I’ve not got much else to say about this, but you can check out my notes here.

Leave a Reply

