Christmas Gift 2014 #1 DONE!

How many hats is that? Five?!

Everyone who has seen my knitting this has asked “Andi, what the fack are you playing at there?!” So, as you can imagine, they stopped asking in the end. I pretty much improvised the short rows, as the pattern was on my tablet and I’m scared of taking it out in the metro, so because I did 90% of this in public it’s a blob of improvisation, but I love how it came out. I would recommend this pattern to anyone who loves knitting and has been asked how many hats they’ve knitted. And also for people who want to gloat that they can knit several hats. I’ve been affectionately calling this “I heard you like hats so I made you a hat full of hats” and you can see my Ravelry notes here, although I do need to update these on the project page. I also did another blog post on this a couple of days back.

The pattern is from the unofficial Harry Potter knitting book, and you can find the info about it here on Ravelry. Overall it too a while for me to get it, and some of the joins are a little fiddely, but this is a great stash busting project and I’d recommend it.

I used odds and sods of Phildar Charly. Great yarn, fairly cheap if you’re in France. Otherwise, don’t bother too much.

P_20141106_171637[1]

Why so many hats?

Although this is for someone else I couldn’t resist trying it on and parading around the place I live with it. The looks the other women gave me! And someone asked me if it was really cold enough to wear multiple hats, so it had the desired effect.

I did block it too, and I never block anything! Actually, this is the only thing I’ve steam blocked, so that was interesting. First time I’ve used an iron too. “MUUUUMMMMMMMM?! Can you iron my…. oh, right, you’re in England… Hm” I just pressed a button and steam bellowed out, it wasn’t too hard. I also used a towel folded twice over it to give it a good folded edge on the yellow hat.

P_20141106_164412[1]

So many ends, but so worth it.

I’m a nightmare when it comes to sewing up. Sometimes I do, but I don’t cut the ends (like my hat from the loony bin) sometimes I don’t and I hope for the best… and sometimes I do, but I don’t sew the pieces up. This one I forced myself to because it’s a gift. Only took an hour.

P_20141106_171701[2]

This speaks for itself.

P_20141106_154327[1]

And I’m ending here with an in progress shot from this afternoon.

I love this hat, if Christmas is ever over I’m making myself one!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leonor
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 20:01:27

    That is one mad looking hat, I love it 😀

    Reply

  2. Khadeejah
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 22:22:11

    This is awesome. Kudos to you! The colours look great; they make each layer pop out that much more. I’d love to make one myself someday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

