Finished! Queen Closer Shawlette

Shawlette

All hung up, nice and neat.

So I did it! Done! Finished! This is my edited version of the Queen Closer Shawlette pattern from Knit Now, issue 32. If you’ve got the magazine you’ll find it on page 72. I did change a few things with this though. The pattern, needles and the yarn. 

They used a 4ply, high twist yarn that had amazing stitch definition, and 4mm needles.I used a cheapy acrylic that cost £2.48 a ball, didn’t have great definition, but it was the colours I loved. I wanted to use it for something like a scarf, and this seemed a viable option. I used 4.5mm needles because it was a DK yarn.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And here’s the back view.

 

So the yarn? King Close Splash, I paid 2.48 a ball from an indie shop in Sussex when I was last on holiday in the UK, I got two. I believe the shade is called Sunshine. It comes as 100g balls, 290m. It is soft, and doesn’t have the annoying squeak of some acrylics. It’s not that fluffy, but stitch definition is a bit of a problem. The real reason I chose this yarn was for the colours, they were so bright and pretty. I had no idea what I wanted to make though. For the price I’d say this is a great yarn, but it won’t last as long as a cotton etc and I just don’t want to try machine washing it. I haven’t actually washed it yet, but I know it’ll be better when I do because it’ll szell slightly.

I did change a few things with this pattern, I did the short rows entirely in stocking stitch, and I had a longer garter stitch border, otherwise everything was pretty much the same. I did less of the pattern too when I worked out that it wasn’t going to make bricks, just a little lace. I then added another garter stitch border on the bottom of all that.

I’ve worn it a few times and the compliments are always great, either on the colour or the lace. The only thing I’m not keen on is the length, but if I wear it off my shoulders like a summer shawl shrug thing, it looks amazing. The other thing I do is turn it around and wear it as a bandana scarf.

So now I want to remake this shawl with one of those nice expensive sock yarns… But which colours…?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A close up of my lace.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A slightly different shot of the lace.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And it really does make an amazing scarf!

I washed it this morning and although it’s not yet dry it does seem a little bigger.

I don’t really have much else to say about this project or the yarn, so I’m going to finish up here. I just want to add that if you like this scarfy shawl, I’m selling it through Facebook until the end of July, but if it’s not gone by then I’m keeping it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftycoup
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 02:01:04

    Beautiful! The colors are gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

