Current project, Queen Closer Shawlette edit

I quickly touched on this in my last post, but sadly had no photos to share. It’s another work in progress but is advancing very quickly. I found this beautiful pattern in an issue of Knit Now and I still can’t find the perfect yarn… I have a good one but it was a £10 present so I wanted to make something similar but in. A cheaper yarn.

This is King Cole Splash. A 100% acrylic yarn that I bought two balls of from an independent yarn shop the last time I visited my mum. I couldn’t find anything to make and then someone jokingly said it would make a good scarf. I’m following the pattern to an extent, but I’ve tweaked it a few places already. Changing the yarn weight, the needle size and lengthening the garters stitch. So far it’s going great. I’ve almost finished the short rows!

image

I would normally do something like this on a circle needle, but I don’t have one in that size, I’m not having a problem with the flats yet, but they’re really not ideal. It makes photography difficult.

image

This is a closer shot of the yarn, I’ve had so many complements on the colours! People think it’s me striping it…

If you want this wool Deramores stock it, I usefully the shade sunshine. You can find it here.

Leave a Reply

