Slouchy beret

image

A selfie, of my beret.

I’m having a really bad time at the moment, currently it’s the end of February, I have no idea when I’ll be able to get online and post this. To get to the point I’m in a psychiatric hospital for a few reasons, it all comes down to depression and I don’t feel the need to explain more than that. Alexandros is safe with some carers, not too happy about that, but I apparently need to be here.

I’m on anti depressants and anti stress medications and I’m less sad now than I have been in a long time, although I’d only describe myself as happy during my visits and when I’m actually doing something. There’s not much to do here other than pace the corridors and watch the television. I deteste both. Thankfully I can knit, sometimes. Under supervision, for about an hour a day if I’m lucky.

We have dangerous and handicapped people here, they don’t consider me a problem with needles, but some of the other people are meaning the staff aren’t allowed to leave the needles unattended no matter who is using them.

It’s taken about eight hours over two weeks but voila, I made myself a slouchy winter beret. It’s very slouchy, I love it. I used an odd grey wool which felt like a DK and some French market wool which felt like an Aran weight acrylic, provided by the hospital. I knitted flat on 4.5mm needed because they didn’t have double pointed here, but I wrote up what I did and will hopefully put the pattern on ravelry.

Here’s the rest of the photos.

image

Smiling this time!

image

From above

image

Here's the flat view.

image

Tablets don't work for selfies...

I’m hoping things will get better, they say I can leave soon.

Leave a Reply

