Finished! Katia darling scarf

Yay! I finished something, well something small. I had a ball of Katia darling given to me by my mum, she saw the rainbow colours and thought of me but saw the price and only got one ball. It costs something like £5 so I understand her reasoning.

image

The hardest thing was to decide what to make with only one ball, a scarf? A shawl? Buy more wool? I wanted to buy more wool, but I’ve not got money, and I’m very impatient. This yarn was too tempting!

image

I read the ball band for the needle recommendations, grabbed my 3mm needles and got knitting. This isn’t the first time I’ve used a wool content yarn, for Christmas I made my mum a Katia Inca beret, but working on wool this fine was a lovely experience. It felt nice to knit, watching the colours change was pleasant too.
Overall this is one of my favourite little projects.

image

The scarf grew relatively quickly and was finish a day after starting.

image

Eventually it got very wide so I transfered it onto a circle needle, still working flat. This was when I noticed the drape.

image

Sadly it was finished all too soon, but I was excited to see the finished result! I cast off using a 4mm needle and sewed in my ends. I tried the scarf on and it’s a little short, but somehow works okay.

image

I’ve been tying it in a knot and letting it hang, it’s lovely.

I’m definitely asking for this yarn again, for socks and a shawl at least. It’s really soft too.

I’m happy to answer any questions you have about my knitting, leave me a comment.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindasimpsoncraftypieceofheaven
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 09:39:41

    This is beautiful, I love the colours. Sorry to hear your blog is not getting as many hits.Just a suggestion but why not change your blog to blogger as most crafters find it difficult to comment on WordPress. I wish you continued success and keep going!
    Hugs
    Linda xxx

    Reply

  2. Jac
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 09:41:54

    Its a lovely scarf, I see what you mean about the love of the wool, those colours are lovely x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 879 other followers

